The MFWire
Manage Email Alerts | Sponsorships | About MFWire | Who We Are

Subscribe to MFWire.com's News Alerts [click]

Rating:Fidelity Leads As 97 Fund Firms Win Big Not Rated 0.0 Email Routing List Email & Route  Print Print
Thursday, March 10, 2022

Fidelity Leads As 97 Fund Firms Win Big

Reported by Neil Anderson, Managing Editor

Fundsters with 97 firms have good cause to celebrate with some champagne.

Abigail "Abby" Pierrepont Johnson
FMR (dba Fidelity Investments)
Chair, President, CEO
Earlier today, Tom Roseen, head of research at Refinitiv Lipper revealed the winners (17 pages worth) of the 2022 U.S. Refinitiv Lipper Fund Awards. By MFWire's count, 97 mutual fund firms won individual fund and/or group awards. (Traditionally, the Refinitiv Lipper folks celebrate the winning firms at a gala in NYC, but they skipped that in 2021 and 2022 in light of the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.)

To determine the winners, the Refinitiv Lipper team uses Lipper Leader ratings for consistent return, a "risk-adjusted performance measure for investors with a stronger risk aversion of clustering of losses than of gains," Roseen explains.

Winners of this year's group awards include: Calamos, Raymond James' Carillon Tower, J.P. Morgan, Lord Abbett, Needham, TIAA's Nuveen, T. Rowe Price, and Virtus.

Yet the vast majority of the awards recognized individual funds. (According to Roseen, this year the Refinitiv Lipper team recognized 116 funds, 114 funds, and 101 funds in three-, five-, and 10-year categories, respectively.) Fidelity led the 2022 awards pack with 35 awards. Other double-digit award winners this time around included: T. Rowe Price (25 awards, including 1 group award), Allianz's Pimco (23 awards), Morgan Stanley (including Calvert and Eaton Vance) (19 awards), Vanguard (19 awards), Invesco (16 awards), and Capital Group's American Funds (15 awards).

DFA, Franklin Templeton (incluing Legg Mason), and Prudential's PGIM won seven awards each. Ameriprise's Columbia Threadneedle and TIAA's Nuveen won six each. And Baron, Macquarie's Delaware, Needham, and Virtus each won five.

Advisors Preferred, Baillie Gifford, BNY Mellon, Matthews Asia, Victory, Wasatch, and WCM won four awards each.

GMO, Guggenheim (including Rydex), Hartford, Lord Abbett, MFS, Orrell Capital Maangement, Parnassus, and TCW (including MetWest) won three awards each.

Resolute's American Beacon, American Century, AssetMark, Baird, BlackRock, Bridgeway, Cohen & Steers, Diamond Hill, Dodge & Cox, Driehaus, DWS, Impax Asset Management, J.P. Morgan, MassMutual, Nationwide, RiverPark, SEI, Sit, and Thrivent won two awards each.

Single award winners include: Abbey Capital Limited, ABR Dynamic Funds, Alger, Allspring, AQR, Aristotle, Ariel, Calamos, Camelot Event-Driven Advisors, Carillon Tower, Catalyst, Cavanal Hill, Channel Investment Partners, Charles Schwab, Crossmark, DoubleLine, Dunham, Easterly, Edgemoor, Eventide, Frost, Grandeur Peak, Guinness Atkinson, Harvest, Hennessy, Horizon Kinetics, Intrepid, Knights of Columbus, Kopernik, New York Life's MainStay, Northern Trust, Harris' Oakmark, Oberweis, Pacific Heights Asset Management, Paradigm, Payden & Rygel, Polaris Capital Management, ProFunds, Putnam, River Canyon, RiverNorth, Segall Bryant & Hamill, Shelton, SMI Advisory Services, Thornburg, Value Line, and Voya

Stay ahead of the news ... Sign up for our email alerts now

 Do You Recommend This Story?

Return to Top
 News Archives
2024: Q3Q2Q1
2023: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2022: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2021: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2020: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2019: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2018: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2017: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2016: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2015: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2014: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2013: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2012: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2011: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2010: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2009: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2008: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2007: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2006: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2005: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2004: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2003: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2002: Q4Q3Q2Q1
 Subscribe via RSS:
Add to My Yahoo!
follow us in feedly

©All rights reserved to InvestmentWires, Inc. 1997-2024
14 Wall Street | 20th Floor | New York, NY 10005 | P: 212-331-8968 | F: 212-331-8998
Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use