The MFWire
Manage Email Alerts | Sponsorships | About MFWire | Who We Are

Subscribe to MFWire.com's News Alerts [click]

Rating:The 33 Most Influential Women In the U.S. Fund Biz Not Rated 0.0 Email Routing List Email & Route  Print Print
Tuesday, March 10, 2020

The 33 Most Influential Women In the U.S. Fund Biz

News summary by MFWire's editors

Of the 100 Most Influential Women in U.S. Finance, 33 are fundsters.

Carolyn Jean Weinberg
Managing Director, Global Head of Product, ETF and Index Investments
That's one takeaway from an inaugural influential women in finance list from Barron's, released in this week's issue. To create the list, the publication's team drew on nominations and their own editorial staff, then culled down from an initial list of hundreds of nominees in money management, investment research, banking, financial regulation, trading, brokerage, family offices, advisory services, and financial policy and advocacy, as well as CFOs for companies outside those businesses. (Barron's has, as of this morning, posted profiles on a dozen or so of the 100 women on the list.)

The biggest mutual fund company winners of the new list were two asset management titans, BlackRock and Fidelity, each of which landed three spots on the list. BlackRock's winners included: Anne Ackerley, head of the retirement group; Barbara Novick, the outgoing vice chairman and co-founder; and Carolyn Weinberg, global head of iShares product. Fidelity's winners included: Pam Holding, co-head of the equities division; Abby Johnson, chair and CEO; and Kathleen Murphy, president of personal investing.

Four firms landed two spots each. From Ariel Investments, winners included Rupal Bhansali, chief investment officer and PM for international and global equity strategies, and Mellody Hobson, co-CEO.

Franklin Templeton's two winners included Sonal Desai, CIO of the fixed income group, and Jenny Johnson, president and CEO of the overall firm.

J.P. Morgan's two fundster winners included Mary Callahan Erdoes, CEO of asset and wealth management, and Clare Hart, managing director and PM in JPMAM's U.S. equity group.

Vanguard's two winners included: Martha King, managing director of the institutional investor group, and Karen Risi, managing director of the retail investor group.

The rest of the winning fundsters included:

  • Donna Anderson, head of corporate governance for U.S. equities at T. Rowe Price;

  • Christine Benz, director of personal finance and senior columnist at Morningstar;

  • Dalia Blass, head of the SEC's investment management division;

  • Erin Brown, PM at Pimco;

  • Cynthia Clemson, co-director of municipal investments at Eaton Vance;

  • Karina Funk, partner and head of sustainable investing at Brown Advisory;

  • Suni Harford, president of UBS Asset Management;

  • Yie-Hsin Hung, CEO of New York Life Investment Management (NYLIM);

  • Christine Hurtsellers, CEO of Voya Investment Management;

  • Jean Hynes, managing partner and global industry analyst at Wellington Management;

  • Saira Malik, head of global equities at Nuveen;

  • Luz Padilla, director of international fixed income at DoubleLine;

  • Michelle Seitz, chairman and CEO of Russell Investments;

  • Katrina Sherrerd, CEO of Research Affiliates;

  • Liz Ann Sonders, chief investment strategist at Charles Schwab;

  • Mary Ellen Stanek, managing director at Baird;

  • Sue Thompson, head of SPDR Americas distribution at State Street Global Advisors (SSGA);

  • Margaret Vitrano, managing director and PM at Legg Mason's ClearBridge; and

  • Anne Walsh, CIO of fixed income at Guggenheim Investments

    Edited by: Neil Anderson, Managing Editor

    Stay ahead of the news ... Sign up for our email alerts now

  • 0.0
     Do You Recommend This Story?

    GO TO: MFWire
    Return to Top
     News Archives
    2024: Q3Q2Q1
    2023: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2022: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2021: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2020: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2019: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2018: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2017: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2016: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2015: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2014: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2013: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2012: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2011: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2010: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2009: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2008: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2007: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2006: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2005: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2004: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2003: Q4Q3Q2Q1
    2002: Q4Q3Q2Q1
     Subscribe via RSS:
    Raw XML
    Add to My Yahoo!
    follow us in feedly

    ©All rights reserved to InvestmentWires, Inc. 1997-2024
    14 Wall Street | 20th Floor | New York, NY 10005 | P: 212-331-8968 | F: 212-331-8998
    Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use