The MFWire
Manage Email Alerts | Sponsorships | About MFWire | Who We Are

Subscribe to MFWire.com's News Alerts [click]

Rating:170 Fundsters Gather As 92 Fund Firms Win Big Not Rated 0.0 Email Routing List Email & Route  Print Print
Friday, March 6, 2020

170 Fundsters Gather As 92 Fund Firms Win Big

Reported by Neil Anderson, Managing Editor

Last night 92 fund firms won big at an industry awards show in New York City. The biggest winners included the folks at Fidelity, Pimco, Invesco, Vanguard, Nuveen, MFS, Eaton Vance, and Capital Group.

Abigail Pierrepont Johnson
FMR (dba Fidelity Investments)
Chair, President, CEO
Bob Jenkins head of research at Refinitiv's Lipper arm, emceed the 2020 Refinitiv Lipper Fund Award - United States, which moved this year, from midtown to a new venue, the Cipriani in the grand, century-old Cunard building in lower Manhattan. The eight shops listed above won more than dozen awards each, and many other other fund firms won multiple awards, too. (Here's Lipper's fund awards methodology.)

After a networking cocktail hour, Pradeep Menon, managing director of Refinitiv's investing and advisory division (one of four main divisions at the company), welcomed fundsters to the event and polled them for predictions on 2020 fund flows, the future of ESG, and more. Then, after an ESG-focused panel discussion and a steak dinner, the event's new charity partner, Leslie Wetzel, took the stage. Wetzel is the chief development officer at Women's World Banking, which helps 68 million around the world access financial services. Then Jenkins took the stage to hand out the awards.

Despite recent coronavirus fears, about 170 fundsters attended the dinner. (Word is that this week about 50 attendees cancelled last minute, while about 30 last minute attendees registered.) Thanks to the coronavirus outbreaks around the world, most fundsters at the awards dinner last night substituted elbow bumps in lieu of the traditional hand shakes.

Fidelity was the biggest winner last night, landing 26 awards. Pimco won 24, Invesco and Vanguard won 21 each, TIAA's Nuveen won 17 (including two group awards), Capital Group's American Funds won 13. Other group award winners included: MFS, which won 12 awards including two group ones); Eaton Vance (including Calvert), 11 awards; WCM, three awards; and Astor and Diamond Hill, two awards each.

T. Rowe Price won 12 awards. Morgan Stanley and Prudential's PGIM landed nine each. Wells Fargo scored seven. BlackRock and GMO took home six each. Ameriprise's Columbia Threadneedle, DFA, and Aegon's Transamerica secured five awards each. And Franklin Templeton, Manning & Napier, Virtus, and Voya earned four each.

AllianceBernstein, Hartford, Icon, MassMutual, Nationwide, ProFunds, Putnam, and Touchstone all won three awards each.

Crossmark, DoubleLine, DWS, Gateway, Guinness Atkinson, Harvest, John Hancock, Legg Mason, Loomis Sayles, Madison Asset Management, Needham Investment Management, Orrell Capital Management, and Wasatch all won two awards each.

The 47 other winners included: 1919 Investment Counsel, Advisors Preferred, AlphaCentric, Amundi Pioneer, AXS Investments, Baird, Barings, Baron, BNY Mellon, Calamos, Camelot Event-Driven Advisors, Canaval Hill Funds, Catalyst, CBOE Vest, Charles Schwab, Clark Capital Management Group's Navigator, Cohen & Steers, Copley Financial Services Corporation, Macquarie's Delaware, Federated Hermes, Fenimore, First Trust, Goldman Sachs, Gotham, Hotchkis and Wiley, Infinity Q, Janus Henderson, Johnson Investment Counsel, J.P. Morgan, Lazard, LoCorr, Lord Abbett, Matthews Asia, MD Sass, Neuberger Berman, Wisconsin Capital Management's Plumb, Polaris, Polen, Principal, Rational Advisors, RiverNorth, Salient, Shelton, TCW (including MetWest), Tortoise, and Victory

Stay ahead of the news ... Sign up for our email alerts now

 Do You Recommend This Story?

Return to Top
 News Archives
2024: Q3Q2Q1
2023: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2022: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2021: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2020: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2019: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2018: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2017: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2016: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2015: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2014: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2013: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2012: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2011: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2010: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2009: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2008: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2007: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2006: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2005: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2004: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2003: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2002: Q4Q3Q2Q1
 Subscribe via RSS:
Add to My Yahoo!
follow us in feedly

©All rights reserved to InvestmentWires, Inc. 1997-2024
14 Wall Street | 20th Floor | New York, NY 10005 | P: 212-331-8968 | F: 212-331-8998
Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use