The MFWire
Manage Email Alerts | Sponsorships | About MFWire | Who We Are

Subscribe to MFWire.com's News Alerts [click]

Rating:SSgA's SHE Sweeps Not Rated 0.0 Email Routing List Email & Route  Print Print
Friday, March 31, 2017

SSgA's SHE Sweeps

Reported by Neil Anderson, Managing Editor

Last night was a big night for Jim Ross and his SPDR team at State Street Global Advisors (SSgA).

James Ross
Executive Vice President
A record of roughly 240 fundsters and fundster allies gathered at the Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers in New York City, for the fourth annual ETF.com Awards Dinner, co-hosted with Inside ETFs. Here's a full list of the finalists and winners of all 33 awards, as well as the methodology behind them.

Ross, executive vice president of SSgA and chairman of the global SPDR business, won the lifetime achievement award. And the SPDR SSgA Gender Diversity Index ETF (SHE) swept the five categories in which it was contending: "best new ETF," "most innovative new ETF," "best new U.S. equity ETF," "thematic ETF of the year," and the "people's choice award."

In his brief remarks, in addition to sharing many thank-yous, Ross highlighted the attention garnered by the "Fearless Girl" statute SSgA commissioned near Wall Street. And he offered a prediction that the ETF industry will reach $25 trillion in AUM by the end of 2025.

Among ETF providers, BlackRock's iShares, Deutsche Asset Management, Elkhorn, and J.P. Morgan won two awards each. Invesco PowerShares, Nuveen, Spirited Funds, USAA, Van Eck, and WisdomTree all won awards, too, and Fidelity and Vanguard tied for an award.

Podcasting advisor Barry Ritholtz gave the keynote address, talking about "organizational alpha" and the Baby Boomer retirement shift. And his firm, Ritholtz Wealth Management, even won "ETF advisor of the year."

Other winning firms included: BofA Merrill, Charles Schwab (the brokerage side), FTSE Russell, Goldman Sachs (the capital markets desk), MSCI, Newfound Research, Raymond James, S&P, and Susquehanna, and Dechert and Thompson Hine tied for an award.

After an opening cocktail reception overlooking the Hudson River, Inside ETFs president Foster Wright welcomed attendees to the three-course dinner. Inside ETFs CEO Matt Hougan and ETF.com CEO Dave Nadig gave out the awards and took pictures with attendees from the winning firms. And Hougan warned attendees that, as is traditional at this awards show, they were "still limiting acceptance speeches to zero words," with an exception for the lifetime achievement award winner, Ross. 

Stay ahead of the news ... Sign up for our email alerts now

 Do You Recommend This Story?

Return to Top
 News Archives
2024: Q3Q2Q1
2023: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2022: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2021: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2020: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2019: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2018: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2017: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2016: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2015: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2014: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2013: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2012: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2011: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2010: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2009: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2008: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2007: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2006: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2005: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2004: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2003: Q4Q3Q2Q1
2002: Q4Q3Q2Q1
 Subscribe via RSS:
Add to My Yahoo!
follow us in feedly

©All rights reserved to InvestmentWires, Inc. 1997-2024
14 Wall Street | 20th Floor | New York, NY 10005 | P: 212-331-8968 | F: 212-331-8998
Privacy Policy :: Terms of Use