T. Rowe Leads This Abbreviated Awards Race
   The insiders' edge for 40 Act industry executives!
an InvestmentWires' Publication
Monday, June 15, 2020

T. Rowe Leads This Abbreviated Awards Race

Nine fund firms and their PMs are in contention in an abbreviated awards race, with the T. Rowe Price folks leading the field in terms of total nominations.

Jerome A. Clark
T. Rowe Price
Portfolio Manager
Today Sarah Bush, director of manager research for North America for Morningstar, revealed 2020 nominees for the Morningstar Awards for Investing Excellence, the revamped version of the investment research giant's old Fund Manager of the Year Awards. Like last year, the nominees are across two categories: "outstanding portfolio manager" and "rising talent", for specific PMs or PM teams; and "exemplary stewardship," for firms. The winners will be revealed next Monday, June 22, and they will be featured on CNBC's "Power Lunch" program that week.

The T. Rowe team landed three nominations (more than any other fund firm): one for Jerome Clark (a repeat nominee from last year), PM of the T. Rowe Price Retirement Series; one for Wyatt Lee, PM alongside Clark (who is stepping back in January); and one for the firm itself.

The Fidelity team landed two nominations: one for Joel Tillinghast (a repeat nominee from last year), PM of Fidelity Low-Priced Stock; and one for John Dance, PM of Fidelity Emerging Markets.

Other repeat nominees from 2019 included: Baird's Mary Ellen Stanek, PM of the Baird Core Plus Fund and the Baird Aggregate Bond Fund; Capital Group (a repeat nominee from last year); Dodge & Cox (a repeat nominee from last year);

The other 2020 nominees were: Akre Capital Management's Chuck Akre, PM of the Akre Focus Fund; Diamond Hill's John McClain, PM of Diamond Hill Corporate Credit and Diamond Hill High Yield; Pimco's Mohit Mittal, PM of Pimco Investment Grade Credit and Pimco Total Return; and TCW's Steve Kane, Laird Landmann, Tad Rivelle, and Bryan Whalen.

Printed from:

Copyright 2020, InvestmentWires, Inc.
All Rights Reserved
Back to Top